Posted in Mirror of Reflections, Ms. Business

Meeting New People

Since moving to my new location for the past year, I have had to change jobs three times in order to find my home job. It is about 10 minutes away from home in bus, and I get back at home about 2:40 pm. I work for 6 hours a day. The people that I have met are a joy to work with. Yes, miscommunication happens but I am quick to make things right.

My husband and I made a list entitled “How to Keep Your Job”.

  1. Don’t be late
  2. Do what they tell you
  3. Be polite, have manners
  4. Be careful what you say/interact with people
  5. See and observe
  6. Don’t complain until you get to know people at least for a few months
  7. Don’t compare yourself to others
  8. Ask those experienced for help and guidance
  9. Seek advice from teachers on paperwork, and teamwork
  10. Be gentle and calm when there is pressure, deadlines, and stress
  11. Silence is gold
  12. Look into the good of others rather than complaining.
  13. Pray to God for strength, and courage

This list is to remind me to always be above any negativity. Being a teacher, one is pulled in different directions. I added more to this list because I realize that I need help from others because this type of job will always require teamwork. One cannot be a lonely ranger.

Talking about loneliness, I realized about a few weeks that I needed to meet and join a group so I can build new friendships. So far, I joined on a performing arts group where I am an usher. I get to help people find their seats in the theater.

I also am going to start a new hobby next month which is ice skating. I need to buy myself a pair of ice skates.

In a couple of week, I will be on vacation in Columbia. I can’t wait to meet my family there as well as my dad. It is going to be fun and relaxing. I think 2021-2022 has been a bit of an adjustment since marrying and moving into a new home, with three different job changes. I pray to God that this job will be more lasting than my previous ones. Jesus and Mary, please keep me gentle, meek and humble. May I have the courage to be strong and find strength when I am weak. May I continue to evolve and find good company and friendship.

Con amor,

Lupita

Author:

Greetings, I am a young Latina living in NYC. I write these blogs as reflections, recollections and memories sobre mi vida. Guadalupe (confirmation name)

Leave a comment