Posted in Music Monday

A Special Guest in NYC

I am please to announce a very special guest in NYC, ….Papa Francisco.  While he is in Manhattan, I am taking the train to my university course. I am really excited to hear his messages, and see his gestures to the public from the television.

Blast from the Past

I was in Yankee Stadium when Pope Benedict visited NYC.  I was extremely excited.  I wore a black dress because I have seen delegates and world leaders wear black when they visited the pope :).

At the time, I was going through a lot in terms of what I  career path I should take, and volunteering at prolife clinics.  Now that I look back, I am happy to have gone through that experience.  It all started when I wanted to be an ESL teacher (teaching English as a second language).  I was volunteering at a place where I taught civics to immigrants.  I came upon Roe vs. Wade, and I started to investigate. I decided to learn what abortion, which led me to see many images of the deceased unborn babies.  I couldn’t believe the lies and manipulation that women are facing in my country.

The director of the place did not want me to talk about, so I decided that it was best that I leave.  I wanted to help these women encountering these unfortunate circumstances. I volunteered at EMC, and meet wonderful people, who are dedicated in supporting these vulnerable women. The Sisters of Life’s ministry is making great changes in women’s hearts with the grace of God.

I remember these words that Pope Benedict said “And this, dear friends, is the particular challenge which the Successor of Saint Peter sets before you today. As “a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation”, follow faithfully in the footsteps of those who have gone before you! Hasten the coming of God’s Kingdom in this land! Past generations have left you an impressive legacy. In our day too, the Catholic community in this nation has been outstanding in its prophetic witness in the defense of life, in the education of the young, in care for the poor, the sick and the stranger in your midst. On these solid foundations, the future of the Church in America must even now begin to rise!”

I will never forget the day I met Pope Benedict.  I felt that his peace radiated on to me.  He definitely had a close relationship with Jesus present in the Eucharist.  He is a holy man.  I hope and pray that one day I will also met Pope Francis live; until then watching him on TV is good enough for me.

Paz

Author:

Greetings, I am a young Catholic Hispanic-American woman living in NYC. I write these blogs as reflections, recollections and memories sobre mi vida. Guadalupe (confirmation name)

Leave a Reply

