Posted in Soda and Popcorn

Newsies

Recently I took a trip into NYC with some of my family members to see Newsies The Musical on Broadway. This Broadway show was once a Disney Movie that I watched a million times as a child with my cousins and sister. I loved the dancing and musical numbers; my favorites were “Santa Fe”, “King of New York” as well as “Seize the Day”.

Newsies’is about a group of homeless orphan boys working as newsboys, selling newspapers for Joseph Pulitzer in the 1800s. In order to gain more profits, Joseph Pulitzer raised the prices of a newsboy’s bundle.  Not satisfied with the increased cost of the newspapers, Jack Kelly (leader of the pack) and his colleagues decided to go on strike, which was not an easy decision and leads to serious consequences.

I was so happy with the performance.  While it was a bit different from the movie, the main story and lesson was still made clear, and that is: it’s important to treat people with dignity.  I will leave you with this music video.

From Disney’s Newsies 1992 Movie

Author:

Greetings, I am a young Latina living in NYC. I write these blogs as reflections, recollections and memories sobre mi vida. Guadalupe (confirmation name)

Leave a Reply

